Backtesting Two (or more) Strategies Simultaneously

Hi there,

I do have a top-end portfolio backtesting question and would like to understand how much or how Amibroker could help with this objective.

Requirement: I do have 2 (or more) strategies coded in two different AFL files and would like to backtest these two strategies and generate 1 equity curve and 1 set of statistics, i.e. CAR/MDD. Also I would like to have portfolio backtesting results on a trade by trade basis for both of the systems on the same “Analyses” tab. I mentioned 2 systems as an example but the suggested solution should be able to cope with 5 systems or more too.

Currently, as a short cut, I am able to run these systems individually and compare the results, make correlation analyses etc but as I mentioned above what really I am after is complete integration of backtesting and optimization capability for 2 or more systems at the same time.

I would be most appreciate for any suggestions, solutions.

Many thanks,

Kind regards,

AD

Duplicate: Multiple System Backtest
Duplicate: How can I backtest a portfolio of trading systems sharing a single max position and different exits

Yes, it can be done. One thing you’ll need to manage is what happens when you have entry signals from multiple systems on the same bar but not enough capital to take all of them.

Here’s an code example that demonstrates the sort of thing you’re after, and uses PositionScore as a way of prioritising the signals. http://www.amibroker.com/members/library/detail.php?id=1227

Dear Alan,

This is noted,

Many thanks,

Kind regards,

AD

In addition to Alan’s User Library link you may want to take a look at these links.

This link needs registration, or we can ask fxshrat to post his codes here.

Similar ideas from the old forum,
https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/amibroker/conversations/topics/193961

Dear Larry,

This is also noted and much appreciated.

Many thanks,

Kind regards,

AD