Changing Param in Backtest

I can see how to change parameters (param) in a chart, and also in the "old" backtester, but I cannot see how to change them in the current backtester. Is the only way to use optimize? I don't want to optimize, just change parameters manually between each backtest.

You should not use Param functions in analysis and especially should not use it for backtesting.

Originally Param functions were made for charts only.

In analysis char tID is always zero (and for all analysis windows). So it leads to problems if you do not take care.

Instead for backtesting (and analysis in general) best solution is to use hardcoded values.

So, really no way to use Param and Optimize inputs at the same time it looks like? Has to be one or the other?

This is not very user friendly. Doesn't it make sense to have Parameters and Optimize be in the same spot, where you can toggle between each in the UI without having to go to code?

I am a programmer and it makes me no difference, but my clients are not and they are complaining.....

@fxshrat prefers not to use Param statements in Analysis, but that's his personal preference, not a limitation of AmiBroker. I use Param* functions for my clients all the time, for exactly the reason you stated. You can simply use a construct like this:

myValueDefault = Param("My Value", 3, 1, 5, 1);
myValue = Optimize("My Value",  myValueDefault, 1, 5, 1);

It's got nothing to do with personal preferences! This wrong statement alone shows that you do not fully understand how param functions operate at all.

It has got to do with feature design and pitfalls. And params were designed for charts. Historical fact since mentioned by designer himself.

Have you actually understood what has been written? Obviously not.