Recommendations for new AmiBroker users

Many people approach support asking about recommended data sources, books, hardware, etc. If you want to help new users post your recommendations in this topic.

From my side I can recommend:

• Best EOD data source for AmiBroker: Norgate Data
  • Best books on AmiBroker: Howard Bandy’s Quantitative Trading Systems and Quantitative Technical Analysis
  • Best premium RT feed: IQFeed
  • Best low-cost RT feed: Interactive Brokers
  • Best desktop CPU: Intel i7 7700K

September 5, 2017 Update: You may want to wait for upcoming Coffee Lake CPU i7 8700K as it promises to deliver 50% more performance with pretty much same price point as 7700K

Start with AmiBroker
Amibroker Dream Machine specs requested!
Download, import data and assign symbol properties
Optimizing with a Large Watchlist
Which paid data to access global equities?

Got new i7-8700K today :slight_smile: - this little beast is really snappy.

Hi Tomasz,
i am new to amibroker and whenever i open charts and apply MA/EMA adefault paramet of 15 shows up. I even tried editing the formula but didnt work. Also when I apply 3 MAs as overlay on the chart they all end up showing the same parameter even after changing them. Surely, I am missing things but didnt know where else to show up.

Thanks a ton in advance.
P.S.: I am not new to trading(8 yrs exp)

I am looking for EOD equities data and despite Tomasz's recommendataion Norgate is limited to Aussie and US stocks.

I am looking at TC2000. Is anyone using them ? Is it any good ? reliability and coverage wise

I have not used TC2000 for several years, and when I did it was only for US stocks. Therefore, my experience may not be terribly relevant to your question. However, I had two issues with TC2000:

1. No delisted stocks in their database, so essentially useless for most serious back testing. Good for daily signal scans though, since their data was available on a 20-minute delay.