A question about BarIndex()

Hi community.

I'll say sorry in advance. I am a newb...I have tried finding an answer to this question. I'm sure it has been answered, but here in the forum, or in the help files or on Google and I have tried looking, but I'm still confused. So thanks for your time.

I don't understand the purpose of Barindex().

I know that every array has a numerical index for each array item. Is this what bar index returns, the index list of an array?

And what is its practical application?

Again, real sorry. I know there are hundreds of examples. Once I get the essence of what it does and how it does it, I'm sure it will all make sense.

Thanks

Hello kgalea,

barindex is the "id or index number" for the exact "bar position" in an array. The index depends on the number of bars in that array. First index number of an array item is 0.
Highest index number is the most current quotation stored in your database.

barindex

You can query that quote at a special array position for example:

zC = C[1397];

https://www.amibroker.com/guide/h_understandafl.html

Best regards,
Peter

5 Likes

As written here to get better understanding of what is happening in your code and how functions work, use advice given here: How do I debug my formula?

You can find how given function works using Exploration:

AddColumn(BarIndex(), "BarIndex", 1.0 );
Filter = 1;

Yes as manual says it returns "zero-based bar number".

Barindex() is an array function itself. So it does not return single number but array of bar numbers.
BarCount on the other hand is not an array but gives total number of bars (it is type number).
BTW, also read about QuickAFL article of KB (in regards to subset of all available data bars)

Note: following one is different in versions since AB 5.30:

"It is also worth noting that when QuickAFL is used, BarIndex() function does NOT represent elements of the AFL array, but rather the indexes of ENTIRE quotation array."