AB hungs sometimes when in the editor I click the APPLY button

Hi

I am sure it has to do with a plugin I am working on. SOMETIMES (1 out of 30 maybe) Amibroker hungs when I make changes to the AB script and click the APPLY button.

Any ideas what I could look for?

I do not really mind restarting AB once in a while. This is not my problem. However this is a symptom telling me that something is wrong with my plugin, maybe not releasing memory, maybe writting something to RAM that is not supposed to...

I am not experienced in C++, and I know I should therefore avoid writting plugins.

1. Try without your plugin.
  2. Place OutputDebugString in your plugin and use DebugView to get better insight into what your plugin is doing

Hi Tomasz

1. I'll give it a try. However I assume the script will not hung if I remove my plugin. It does not hung consistently, so it is not easy to test this.
  2. From what I understand OutputDebugString/DebugView serves to examine the content of variables, correct? I am exporting all related data to a text file, in all key points of the script to do this.
  1. No I mean put OutputDebugString() in every function of your plugin (at entry and at exit) to know where it is when it hangs.
1 Like

Got it. Thanks, I will try this.

Hi @Tomasz

The problem occurs when I click the APPLY in the editor and Status(ActionEx) = 19. The plugin gets negative values for some array index parameters, nSize is reported to be 10 (from : int nSize = gSite.GetArraySize();). Which reminds me you have always said: "never assume the amount of bars.." or something like this.

So I modified the script and first I check for negative array index values, before I call the plugin. After that the problem disappeared.

lookback = Param( "Look back", 20, 1, 200, 1 );
shift = Param( "Shift", 0, 0, 300, 1 );

end_barindex = BarCount - 1 - shift;
start_barindex = end_barindex - lookback; 

zz = Null;