Change day's 1st candle's (9.15 am) values in Amibroker with Pre-open's

Hi,
I am new to Amibroker and learning as I go. This is my first post in the Forum.

I want to backtest an intraday strategy on 1 min time frame. The opening price of the the trading session on 1min (9.15 am) is the most important as it is compared with yesterday's closing price(EOD).

I have historical data (1 min) for backtesting, but the Open price of 9.15am Candle is incorrect. It should have been equal to the pre-open session's(9.08/9.07) Open/High/Low/Close.
Please see below screen shot for better idea:

Note: During the pre-open session no trading is done, it only begins at 9.15am.

For backtesting purpose, how do I replace the 9.15's Open with 9.07/9.08's price in Amibroker? Or any other solution ??

Thanks,

My answer is a bit partial for now and a little bit of IFs.

I get the same issue so i've already cleaned old data when i created the DB and now fix everything on a daily basis by running a script.

Ideally, anything can be achieved with code but i have preferred to rectify the data so there is no problem later.

1. You can export data:
    AmiBroker Knowledge Base » How to export quotes to separate text files per symbol

2. Use the script in step 1 and MODIFY it to export only timestamp of 9:07 or 9:08 but checking which one is valid. Also modify the time part of time stamp to 9:15 hardcoded.
    The DateTime can be changed to get only Date part.

3. Import to overwrite. Script here using HYBRID mode.
    AmiBroker Knowledge Base » How to combine data from multiple input files

some other links that can help you understand.
Import ASCII only for specified fields? - AmiBroker - AmiBroker Community Forum

AmiBroker Knowledge Base » How to export quotations from AmiBroker to CSV file ?

https://www.amibroker.org/userkb/2007/06/26/data-holes-in-real-time-trading/

Formatting quotation data export to a file - AFL Programming - AmiBroker Community Forum

1 Like

Hi,