Checking if value is in a set

Hi AFL Community,

I'm new to AFL, so I apologize if this is a basic question, but I had trouble figuring out an efficient way of doing it and didn't see anything explaining it in the docs. I am attempting to place trades only on certain days of the year. I've already gotten the date value. Essentially, I would like to place trades when that value is contained in a user defined set of arbitrary numbers. In Pseudocode, it would be:

set = {3, 5, 6, 14, 28, 32, 42}
Buy = (IndicatorValueToday is contained in set)

I'm sure I could brute force my way through it (indicator ==x[0] or indicator==x[1] or...), but is there a more streamlined way of writing this expression, particularly for larger sets? If I missed an obvious explanation, please let me know what I should be looking for.

Best,
Thomas

http://www.amibroker.com/kb/2014/09/30/gen-backtest-from-a-file/

1 Like

Hi @tdmtrader,

Can you pls provide more info/ clarity on what you're attempting to achieve.

I think what you’re trying to do, is to open a trade on particular days of the year.

For example:
You’ve done some analysis of the data for a particular stock, and found that certain days of the year are more favourable than others. So you ‘ve made a list of those special days/ dates, using something like a DayOfYear() function, where day number is 1..366, and now want AmiBroker to highlight on chart the quote/s that fall on those special days.

When the latest quote is displayed, at the right-hand-edge of the chart, and is highlighted as a special day, that’s your alert to open a trade.

Or, is @Tomasz’s suggestion what you want?

Hi Phase,

Your description is what I want. I've hardcoded in a variable called set, as follows:

set[0] = 5
set[1] = 11
set[2] = 22
etc.

I've also got code that gives me the trading day of the year:
tradingDayOfYear = BarsSince(Year() > Ref(Year(), -1)) + 1;

The code: