GuiEdit/GuiButton: puzzling errors when clicked several times

Hello,
I would like to convert some part of my good old Gfx* code using Gui* functions, but I'm still learning how to use them. So I wrote a few samples to get a better understanding. In one case I met unexpected errors.

Basically the toy GUI consists in a GuiButton and a GuiEdit. When the button is clicked, the Edit content is changed (simply prepends "You typed: "). Here is the core :

idMyButton = 2; 
idEdit = 3;

// GUI Creation
GuiButton( "MyButton", idMyButton, 10, 20, 100, 30, notifyClicked );
GuiSetColors( idMyButton, idMyButton, 2, colorWhite, colorBlue, colorBlack);

rc = GuiEdit( idEdit, 140, 20, 200, 30, notifyEditChange );
if( rc == guiNew ) GuiSetText("Initial Text", idEdit ); // guiNew / guiExisting

// Events handling
for ( n = 0; (id = GuiGetEvent( n, 0 )) !=  0; n++ ) { // get the id of the event
	 code = GuiGetEvent( n, 1 );

switch ( id ) {
		 case idMyButton:
		 // do something
			if (code == notifyClicked) {
				// BUG ! error if button clicked several times (4, 5, more...)
				// Or the button may disappear entirely ! 
				// In the latter case I get an error 
				// "The control with given ID does not exist" next line:
				GuiSetText("You typed: "+GuiGetText(idEdit), idEdit);
			}
			break;

case idEdit:
		 // do something else
			break;

default:
			 break;
	 }
 }

// Finally
Title = "You typed: "+GuiGetText(idEdit);

Nothing fancy. Except sometimes the Edit box disappears after a few clicks on the button...and I get an error "The control with given ID does not exist" line 24. I guess the Edit box is destroyed/not (re)created by the script. I'm flabbergasted, I can't understand what I'm doing wrong. Maybe some good soul knows the answer...(Below a screenshot EditBox missing and another with an error...)

error3
error4

2 Likes