Learner's Questions

Hey there! I have created my account recently but have been reading the forum for a while. I am a novice to AFL and to the coding world. Without any further ado, I just would like to invite the experts to extend their help by explaining the code. I will not asking any one to code for me but instead I will post the doubt which I come across when understanding the already built codes.

I understand the IIF, Sum and Ref, HHV functions. But what I don't understand is Ref(HHV( Close,LK),-5)

Below is the code to calculate the number of new highs (or lows) that a stock has made during the last 50 days

LK=50;
A1= IIf( L> Ref(HHV( Close,LK),-5), 1, 0 );
A2= Sum( A1, LK ) ;

I understand that Ref(Close, -5) refers the value of close 5 candles ago. When you say (L>Ref(HHV(close,LK),-5) It means value of L is greater than previous highest close value in last 50 candles but what it means -5?

Please No harsh words asking me to learn from the other pages. I have spent an ample time searching the web to understand the code.

Users guide explains everything:

http://www.amibroker.com/f?ref

References a previous or subsequent element in a ARRAY. A positive period references "n" periods in the future; a negative period references "n" periods ago.

So obviously -5 means that you reference values "5 bars ago"

See also: http://www.amibroker.com/guide/h_understandafl.html - that is the document you should read before anything else.

@gokul I don't think your code is calculating what you think it is calculating. I assume you just copied this from some web site that is full of mistakes.

I interpret this as higher HIGH's, is that correct? If so then why are you comparing current bar LOW to the highest value of the CLOSE for 50 bars, but that calculation is done on the value 5 bars in the past??

Perhaps you are looking for higher Low or higher Close values?