Pls help re Barsince Barcount? - count number of green bars for say the past nine bars (minute bars)

Hi all,

I am a rookie of AFL. I managed to develop a couple of basic analysis and explorations… I researched this site and a number of forums re AFL but I couldn’t figure out how to count the number of green bars say for the past nine bars (minute bars).

I want to “Buy” if and only if at least seven of the past nine bars are green bars. Can any expert here help me with the AFL? Please forgive my ignorance. Many thanks. I can then leverage on the input and explore.

Regards
KSY

@SKm The members of this forum come from all over the world and we use different terminology to describe the charts and methods we use. So I would suggest being specific with your request.

If by "Green Bar" you mean a bar where the Close is greater than the Open, then try this.

GreenBar = C > O;
Condition7 = Sum( GreenBar, 9 ) > 6;

// Explore //
Filter = 1;
g_bar = IIf( C > O, colorLime, colorDefault );
SevenOfNine = IIf( Condition7, colorLightBlue, colorDefault );
AddColumn( Open, "Open" );
AddColumn( Close, "Close" );
AddColumn( GreenBar, "GreenBar", 1.0, colorDefault, g_bar );
AddColumn( Condition7, "Condition7", 1.0 , colorBlack, SevenOfNine );

Produces this type of Exploration

1 Like

Many thanks portfoliobuilder. It helps big time. I think I am getting there.

(1) I have a couple of follow on questions hope you can help again! In Amibroker chart, for bars when the O==C, bar color will sometimes be green and sometime be red. Does the color of the most recent green/red bar dictate the color of the following O==C bars?

(2) Based on your input, I inserted two columns (pls see below afl) to show the Red bar and the Condition (if met) when 8 of the past 10 bars were Red... but I found that the Condition8Red column simply shows what is shown under the Condition8Green column (pls see 939am row). May I know if I did anything wrong here?

GreenBar = C > O;