Ranking symbols based on Sectoral Indices performance

Hi,
I have been designing a trading system, where individual stocks are ranked on their own ROC as well as the ROC of Sectoral Indices.
The problem which i faced was, how to get the symbols belonging to different indices for ranking.

This system is very similar to the article, [http://www.amibroker.com/kb/2016/01/30/separate-ranks-for-categories-that-can-be-used-in-backtesting/], but instead of sectorId(), can we use Sectoral indices from Symbols menu? I have no idea.

Seniors, I have very little tweaking knowledge of AFL:grinning: and above 50, very hard time to learn the skill whole new. Kindly help.

As mentioned in the referenced article, symbols canbe accessed from watchlist.

// watchlist should contain all symbols included in the test
wlnum = GetOption( "FilterIncludeWatchlist" );
List = CategoryGetSymbols( categoryWatchlist, wlnum ) ;

Similarly if i want to access indices from Indexes category, following code does not seem to work:
indnum = GetOption( "FilterIncludeIndex" );
indList = CategoryGetSymbols( categoryIndex,indnum) ;

Please correct me if i am wrong

@Tomasz(or any seniors), I don't find any article or post about using indices in Indexes menu. How do we rank them based on their performance?.

Please help.

Regards

If you can't write AFL yourself you can always hire 3rd party: Third party services, blogs, courses, books, add-ons

Thank you very much for your kind advice. Going to hire 3rd party option was always there, even before starting this thread and i wouldn't have spent hours searching relevant threads/material on this forum, apart from similar efforts elsewhere on the net.
I never asked for ready to use piece of code. I just asked for the references/ materials related to my strategy's requirements. I thought this community of experts would at least help the beginners like me in the process of self learning.

Regards

1 Like