Remain 100% invested

Hi,

I’m very new to AFL programming and am trying to figure out how to backtest always staying 100% invested in a portfolio strategy that will fluctuate from a maximum of 4 positions to 0 positions any given end of month signal. I’m only interested in monthly data and no other timeframe. How would I go about programming this?

As it stands I’m using the following code below. It works when I’m long 4 symbols but as soon as I drop to a holding of 1 to 3 symbols it still assigns position size of 25% (4 positions).

PosQty = Param( "Number of Positions", 4, 1, 4, 1) ; // Position Quantity: max number of positions
SetPositionSize( 100 / PosQty, spsPercentOfEquity );

Your help is much appreciated.

Chad

Corrected code:

// Position Quantity: max number of positions
PosQty = Param( "Number of Positions", 4, 1, 4, 1) ;

SetOption("MaxOpenPositions", PosQty );

// the last one allows slightly shrinking pos size to accommodate for commissions.
// only required if you turned it off in the settings 
SetOption("AllowPositionShrinking", True );
Buy = 1; // buy and hold
Sell = 0;

Tomasz,

Sorry, I forgot to include the other code I had. Please see below. The portfolio still does not remain 100% invested when my holdings drop <4. Am I doing something wrong?

PosQty = Param( “Number of Positions”, 4, 1, 4, 1) ; // Position Quantity: max number of positions
SetOption( “CommissionAmount”, 0.00 );
SetOption( “InitialEquity”, 100000 );
SetOption( “MaxOpenshort”, 0 );
SetOption( “MaxOpenLong”, PosQty );
SetOption( “MaxOpenPositions”, PosQty );
SetOption( “WorstRankHeld”, PosQty );
SetOption( “AllowPositionShrinking”, True );
SetTradeDelays( 0, 0, 0, 0 );

Basic mistake that users are making is NOT telling precisely and fully what they are doing in the first post.
After hours of message ping-pong it turns out that user had yet another setting somewhere.

There are dozens of constraints being applied like RoundLotSize for example.

AmiBroker JUST WORKS.