Should I leave temporarily AFL?

Hi guys,

I am struggling with AFL and I is been harder than I expected. It is not by AFL but me. For everything I solve, I have new ten doubts. I'm sure Amibroker will allow me to do projects I want to develop, and I am absolutely decided to learn to programme with AFL. It's just about time.

I must accept that not only I have not array-wise thinking but I do not have computational thinking. I am not a quant or a programmer. I'm just a newbie, an absolute beginner to this.

Said this, I am wondering if maybe I was wrong trying to begin to programming directly with AFL (where I want to arrive) but it would be a better idea beginning with another easy language with more resources (courses, youtube videos, books, etc..). Reading in another post, I am considering to buy some "Head First" book ("Programming" or "Learning to code") and begin with Python to learn the basics of programming... always thinking in to come back as soon as I can to AFL (what I want). It is not learning Python itself but just getting a computational thinking. I know that the road will be longer but it may be the best.

What do you think? It is a good or a bad idea? In the long run, maybe I'll save time?

Thanks,

1 Like

AFL is much easier than Python (IMHO). And AFL is not PIA like Python (IMHO).

Just make a detailed example of what you are not understanding.
What exactly are you trying to achieve (code wise)?
And what is the exact road block preventing you from reaching that sample goal?

I mean you obviously have started to write some code, right?
Where are/were you stuck there?

2 Likes

@BernieTGN AmiBroker is a powerful technical analysis and trading system development software. As such it may take many years worth of study to master. But most worthwhile programming languages will also take in depth study to master.