Timeframe question

I have a 1-min bar DB and am working on a 15-min chart. I understand AFL doesn't allow changing timeframe to 1min, and that makes sense for most cases. However, if I just want to get a max or min or cum of something in the 1-min timeframe, is there anyway to do it? For example, can I get the sum of the effective volume of the 15 1-min bars? Thanks.

@JTrader , this forum contains a wealth of information. The SEARCH feature is your friend.

As you have been a member for over a year, and have only read for 40 minutes, I think you can learn a ton by spending some time reading.

Searching on Multi-timeframe and Volume should give you the results you need.

Like all good mentors, the ones here want to see that you have put some effort in before giving guidance. Most don't want to become someone's AFL code writing service.

2 Likes

I've been using amibroker for over 15 years so I know a lot more than what you think I know. And I did search the forum but didn't find any similar questions. Apparently you don't understand my question.
And if you really have the time checking on my profile, it'd be more productive to answer some questions here than whining around.

2 Likes

@JTrader I think your response is not polite while @snoopy.pa30 was trying to be helpful to someone who did not appear to have much experience with AmiBroker. He gave you some tips on researching MTF functions and searching the forum. He was not being rude or insulting. And he has attempted to help many users on this forum.

You claim to be a 15 year user, but how many times have you offered to help members of this forum? Zero?

I am no expert on intraday data manipulation but if you want to use 1 minute data then you must use the 1 minute interval in your analysis or charting. From there you can create your 15 minute bars or indicators if necessary.

A couple of different ways to accomplish this,

One way,

TimeFrameSet( in15Minute ); // switch to 15 minute frame