Using cash only for position size

I have read many posts about this subject, and I'm still confused about the solution. Please note that I have been trading for 22 years, and although my programming skills are not good, I know a few things about trading, although I am not an expert.

I cannot, in general, use open equity to buy shares, only cash. I do not use margin. Yet, the standard Amibroker position size method uses open equity to size positions. This is a simple example below with 7 ETFs and a simple entry and exit method that is irrelevant. If I use the following position size method:

SetPositionSize( 100/7, spsPercentOfEquity);

for a backtest that starts on January 3, 2007, I first get four positions triggered, as shown below.

The fifth position is triggered on January 2, 2008, while all the previous four positions are open with a gain of $7,615 at the close of December 31, 2007. The initial capital was $100,000.

The position value of the fifth position on January 2, 2008, is shown as $15,370.53. This means Amibroker is using the open equity to size the position as follows: $107,615/7 = $15,373

But this is not correct. You cannot use open equity to size positions because that is unrealized profit and the cash is not available. The available cash in the account is $57,175; there are up to three more potential positions to take after the first four. In this case, only one was triggered on January 2, 2008, but it could have been all three.

I am asking what the solution is to this and why using open equity is the default mode when cash should have been the default mode because open equity cannot be used to buy shares unless you are an institution or in a position to post collateral or borrow funds through margin.