Why Amibroker CBT mode use object oriented programing paradigm?

Hello,

Firstly let me clarify you that I’m not a computer scientist by education but someone who learned to write a code to get a better result for my investing process.

Now I’m trying to teach some of my friends about how to code in Amibroker custom backtester coding (CBT). And Yes some of them can do that. They understand how to code in CBT right now.

But the problem that I’ve found so far is that it’s quite hard to getting started to explain the reason why we have to use object oriented programming (OOP) such as objects, methods and properties in CBT instead of simple variables and functions like procedural programming style in AFL standard mode. So I’m trying to get more clear answer about it.

I’m not sure is it because it’s the way that is easier for Amibroker Team to develop a software or it’s because of it is easier to code from a user’s point of view? or because the backtesting infrastructure in CBT mode is different from a standard mode? or because there many more data types & functions to handle than that in standard mode (which is based on historical data). There’re many more hypothesis in my head right now but that’s just a guess.

So for this question, I think it should be best to ask the original Amibroker developer to get the best answer, Could you please explain to my why is that in CBT mode we have to adopt OOP paradigm to write a code and what is the beginning reason that makes Amibroker team decide to build CBT mode in an object oriented programming paradigm, So that when I get this more clearly I can tell the others more clearly and effectively about this topic. Because when people get the “Why” they can understand the reason of the “How”.

Thank you very much.

1 Like

Good question!

Object model was chosen for one reason - it fits the problem naturally.